Studying in the USA by Home Country: Admission, Visa and Cost Guides
By Muntasir Minhaz • Published Oct 08, 2026 • Reviewed Oct 08, 2026 by Muntasir Minhaz
This hub compares annual cost, visa fees, planning timelines, and country-specific notes across 50 USA study guides, from Germany's $11,950/year public tuition reference to Italy's $65,470/year private full cost.
This hub lines up 50 country-specific guides to studying in the USA, from Argentina to Zimbabwe, each covering annual cost, visa fees, planning timeline, and a country-specific note. The annual cost figures the guides quote vary widely: Germany's guide lists $11,950/year for public in-state tuition as a reference point, Azerbaijan's puts community college as low as $4,000, and Italy's quotes $65,470/year for the full cost of a private education, the highest figure in the table. France's guide splits $49,080/yr public against $62,570/yr private. Visa fee figures also diverge, with Cote d'Ivoire's guide noting a SEVIS I-901 fee of $350 while several other guides total $785 once SEVIS, MRV, and the integrity fee are combined.
Start with the annual cost quoted and the start planning columns first, since those change most by country and affect how far ahead a decision needs to be made. A dash in a column means that particular guide does not state a figure there, not that the value is zero or unavailable elsewhere. The country-specific point flags an issue unique to that place, from currency controls to visa suspensions to credential evaluation needs. Each row links through to its full guide, where the sources behind every figure are cited in detail.
Compare by home country
| Home country | Annual cost quoted | Visa fees | Start planning | Country-specific point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Argentina | — | — | 10 to 12 months before start | Argentina's currency controls and inflation affect budgeting in USD |
| Armenia | — | — | 12 to 18 months before enrollment | Factor in Armenian dram to US dollar exchange rate swings |
| Australia | — | — | 12-18 months before | Most universities waive TOEFL/IELTS for Australian applicants with written confirmation |
| Azerbaijan | $9,800 public, $40,700 private, $4,000 community college (2022-23 avg) | — | 8 to 12 months before (combined process) | Can apply for visa up to 365 days before program start date |
| Cambodia | — | — | at least a year before classes start | Translate Khmer records to English alongside credential evaluation |
| Cameroon | $4,000 community college, $9,800 public, $40,700 private (2022-23 avg) | — | 12-18 months before | English-medium and French-medium tracks mean English prep needs differ |
| Chile | — | — | 12-18 months before classes start | Combine Fulbright Chile, Becas Chile (ANID), scholarships, family funds |
| Cote d'Ivoire | — | SEVIS I-901 fee $350 (Aug 2026) | — | Proclamation 10998 suspends F/J/M visas for Ivorian nationals since Jan 1 2026 |
| Ecuador | $27,100 public vs $58,600 private (total cost, 2022-23) | — | 12-18 months before | Ecuador uses USD, so no currency conversion needed for budgeting |
| Egypt | — | — | 12-18 months before you start | US accepts Thanaweya Amma, IGCSE/A-Level, or IB diplomas directly |
| Ethiopia | — | — | 12 or more months before enrollment | Plan Ethiopian birr to USD transfers early; check bank limits |
| France | $49,080/yr public vs $62,570/yr private (total cost, 2025-26) | SEVIS fee $350 + visa application fee $185 | 18 months before enrollment | Bac mention (Assez Bien/Bien/Très Bien) helps strengthen US applications |
| Georgia | $49,080/year public, $62,570/year private (2025-26) | SEVIS fee $350, MRV visa application fee $185 | 10-12 months before | Visa interviews scheduled via ustraveldocs.com/ge for US Embassy Tbilisi |
| Germany | $11,950/year public in-state (reference), ~$45,000/year private (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total ~$785) | — | Germany is in the Visa Waiver Program (ESTA) for tourism, but ESTA never covers study |
| Guatemala | $31,880/year public out-of-state, $45,000/year private, $4,150/year community college (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total $785) | 12-18 months before | US Embassy in Guatemala City is the only post that interviews F-1 applicants |
| Honduras | ~$31,880/year public out-of-state, ~$45,000/year private, ~$4,150/year community college (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, visa $185, visa integrity fee $250 | 12-18 months before | US Embassy in Tegucigalpa is the only post in Honduras that issues F-1 student visas |
| Hong Kong | $31,880/year public, $45,000/year private, $4,150/year community college (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total $785) | 12-18 months before | Recent interview wait times at the Hong Kong post ran under 15 days |
| Iraq | $31,880/year public out-of-state, $45,000/year private (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 | 9-12 months before | US Embassy Baghdad/Consulate Erbil not running routine interviews as of Aug 2026 (security alert) |
| Israel | $31,880/year public out-of-state, $45,000/year private (2025-26) | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total ~$785) | — | Universities grant deferred admission to Israelis completing IDF/national service |
| Italy | $31,880/year public out-of-state (tuition+fees), $65,470/year private (full cost), 2025-26 | SEVIS $350 + visa application $185 = $535 minimum before interview | 12-18 months before | Italian diploma di maturità follows 13 years of schooling, one more than the US 12-year system |
| Jamaica | ~$9,800/year public in-state (2022-23, outdated), up to ~$40,700/year private | SEVIS fee $350, MRV visa application fee $185, visa integrity fee $250 | — | Some schools waive the English test requirement for Jamaican students schooled in English |
| Jordan | — | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total $785) | 12-14 months before | US Embassy in Amman is the only post handling visas for Jordan |
| Kazakhstan | $27,100/year public (total cost incl. room/board), $58,600/year private, 2022-23 | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 (total $785) | 12-18 months before | Visa interviews for Kazakhstan are handled at the Consulate in Almaty, not the Astana embassy |
| Kuwait | — | SEVIS $350, MRV $185, visa integrity fee $250 | 12-18 months before | Kuwait scholarship students bring their award letter from the Kuwait Cultural Office |
| Lebanon | $45,708 (public out-of-state) / $58,628 (private nonprofit) | — | 12 to 18 months before enrollment | Lebanese banks restrict access to US dollars since 2019 banking crisis |
| Malaysia | $31,880/year (public out-of-state) / $45,000/year (private nonprofit) | — | at least a year before classes begin | Malaysian grades don't map to US GPA scale; credential evaluation needed |
| Mongolia | — | — | 12 to 18 months before start date | US Embassy in Ulaanbaatar is Mongolia's only F-1 interview location |
| Morocco | — | — | at least 12 months before classes begin | AMIDEAST test centers in Rabat and Casablanca offer TOEFL/SAT locally |
| Myanmar | — | — | 12-18 months before enrollment | US Embassy in Yangon is Myanmar's only visa-processing post |
| Panama | $31,880/year (public out-of-state) / $45,000/year (private nonprofit) | SEVIS fee via fmjfee.com; MRV visa fee $185; reciprocity fee varies | 9 to 12 months before enrollment | IFARHU is Panama's government scholarship and study-loan body |
| Peru | — | — | 12-18 months ahead (research phase) | Budget a buffer for the Peruvian Sol to US dollar exchange rate |
| Qatar | $31,880-45,000/year in tuition and fees alone | — | — | Qatari visa-free ESTA entry does not cover study; F-1 visa required |
| Russia | — | — | 9-12 months before enrollment | US Embassy Moscow hasn't processed F-1 visas since 2021; interview elsewhere |
| Rwanda | — | — | — | Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program funds many Rwandan students |
| Senegal | — | — | 9 to 12 months before enrollment | Senegalese Baccalauréat needs NACES credential evaluation for US system |
| Singapore | — | — | — | Male citizens/PRs complete National Service, may defer US offer |
| South Africa | — | — | — | Exchange control limits money moved offshore without Reserve Bank approval |
| Spain | — | — | 12 to 18 months before start date | Visa interview at US Embassy Madrid or Consulate General Barcelona |
| Sri Lanka | — | — | about 12-18 months before you want to begin | Budget for Sri Lankan rupee to US dollar exchange rate shifts |
| Tanzania | — | SEVIS fee $350 (as of August 2026) | — | Must set social media accounts to public before visa interview |
| Thailand | $31,880/yr public, $45,000/yr private (tuition & fees, 2025-26) | — | at least a year before intended start date | Only F-1 interview post in Thailand is US Embassy Bangkok |
| Uganda | — | — | 12 to 18 months before intended start date | Only F-1 interview site in Uganda is US Embassy Kampala |
| Ukraine | — | — | — | Consular operations shifted repeatedly due to war with Russia since 2022 |
| Uzbekistan | — | — | at least twelve months before you want to enroll | Only F-1 interview site in Uzbekistan is US Embassy Tashkent |
| Venezuela | $45,708 public total COA, $58,628 private total COA (2022-23) | — | 12-18 months before start date | Caracas embassy reopened March 2026 after seven years closed |
| Zimbabwe | — | — | 12-18 months before intended start date | Presidential Proclamation 10998 suspends F-1 visa issuance to Zimbabweans |
| the Dominican Republic | — | — | at least a year before intended start date | Only visa post is US Embassy in Santo Domingo |
| the Philippines | $31,880/yr public, $45,000/yr private (tuition & fees, 2025-26) | $785 total government fees (SEVIS + MRV + integrity fee) | 12 to 18 months before intended start date | Manila visa appointment slots fill up during April-August peak season |
| the UAE | — | — | 12-18 months before enrollment | Interview at US Embassy Abu Dhabi or US Consulate General Dubai |
| the UK | — | $350 SEVIS fee, $185 MRV visa fee | 12-14 months before start | UK government student finance doesn't cover full-time US degree study |
How to use this table
Each row summarises one guide in this series. The figures are the ones quoted in that guide when it was written, and a dash means the guide does not state that item. Open a guide for its sources, the full detail and its latest update date.
Sources
- ICE - I-901 SEVIS Fee (accessed 2026-10-08)
- U.S. Embassy in Cote d'Ivoire - Visas (accessed 2026-10-08)
- travel.state.gov (mirror) - Visa Waiver Program (accessed 2026-10-08)
- U.S. Embassy in Zimbabwe - Visas (accessed 2026-10-08)
- travel.state.gov (mirror) - Student Visa (accessed 2026-10-08)