In-State Tuition by State: Residency Rules Compared
By Muntasir Minhaz • Published Oct 08, 2026
Compares residency rules and tuition figures across 52 US state and territory guides, from Arkansas's 6-month wait to Illinois's no-fixed-month test, and from Puerto Rico's $5,274 resident rate to Washington's $44,460 nonresident tuition.
This hub lines up 52 state and territory guides on in-state tuition residency rules, each with its own page of exceptions and sourced tuition figures. Most guides set a 12-month domicile or physical-presence test, but Arkansas asks for only 6 consecutive months of bona fide domicile, while Illinois uses a domicile/intent test with no fixed month count. Tuition figures show how much a wrong guess costs: Puerto Rico's UPR Mayagüez resident rate was $5,274 for 2024-25, Florida's University of Florida in-state tuition is $6,380/year (2025-26) against $30,900/year out-of-state, and Washington's UW nonresident tuition runs $44,460 a year for 2026-27 versus $13,406 a year in-state.
Check the residency rule column first since it sets the clock and the intent test a state applies before any tuition comparison matters. A dash means that state's guide does not state an in-state or out-of-state figure, often because the source page covers rules without naming a flagship tuition number. The exceptions column lists who skips the wait, typically active-duty military, dependents, veterans, or DACA recipients where a state allows it. Each state name links to its full guide, which carries the original tuition and policy sources behind these figures.
Compare by state
| State | Residency rule | In-state tuition example | Out-of-state example | Exceptions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 12 consecutive months in Alabama before the term starts | — | — | Active-duty military & dependents, state employees, SREB program students, GI Bill veterans |
| Alaska | 12 months physical presence plus intent to stay (UA system) | — | UAF nonresident tuition roughly $29,000/year | Active duty military/Guard/veterans & dependents, UA employees' dependents, recent HS grads |
| Arizona | 12 months physical presence & domicile before last day of registration (ABOR Policy 4-203) | — | — | Active-duty military & dependents, AmeriCorps/VISTA members, univ/school employees, tribal members |
| Arkansas | 6 consecutive months of bona fide domicile before the admission application | — | — | Active-duty military & dependents, veterans, DACA recipients (HB 1684), Texarkana TX residents |
| California | 366 days physical presence plus intent; under-24 non-dependents need financial independence | — | — | Active-duty military & dependents, GI Bill veterans, AB 540 undocumented/DACA students |
| Colorado | 12 months domicile before first day of term; dependents under 22 follow parent | — | — | Active-duty military & GI Bill veterans/dependents, DACA/undocumented under ASSET law (HB 22-1155) |
| Connecticut | petition to switch to in-state status one year after establishing CT residence | UConn Storrs resident tuition: $21,904/year | UConn Storrs non-resident tuition: $44,572/year | Dependents of active-duty military in CT; students with CT ties through a parent/guardian |
| Delaware | 12 consecutive months domicile plus 183 days physical presence before term | — | — | Active-duty military & dependents, GI Bill veterans/dependents, noncitizen DE-HS-grad pathway |
| Florida | 12 consecutive months before first day of class; applies to student or parent | University of Florida resident tuition: $6,380/year (2025-26) | University of Florida non-resident tuition: $30,900/year (2025-26) | Active-duty military & dependents, FL National Guard, GI Bill veterans (DACA waiver ended 2025) |
| Georgia | 12 consecutive months before term starts; dependents use parent's residency | — | — | Active-duty military (no wait); GI Bill veterans/dependents (DACA excluded under GA law) |
| Hawaii | 365 consecutive days of residency before the semester (UH system) | — | — | Military & dependents, Native Hawaiians, FSM/RMI/Palau citizens, recent HI HS grads (2-yr window) |
| Idaho | 12 months domicile before the term, measured from certification request date | Boise State resident tuition: $9,789/year (2026-27) | Boise State nonresident tuition: $29,477/year (2026-27) | Active-duty military stationed in Idaho; veterans with 2+ yrs service designating Idaho domicile |
| Illinois | No fixed month count; domicile/intent test – a year+ in IL alone doesn't qualify | U. of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: $18,046-$23,426/year in-state (2025-26) | U. of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: $38,398-$46,498/year out-of-state (2025-26) | Active-duty military, spouses/dependents, and GI Bill veterans qualify regardless of time in state |
| Indiana | 12 months of Indiana domicile before term starts; dependents follow parent's domicile | — | — | Active-duty military stationed in Indiana and some dependents skip standard test |
| Iowa | 12 consecutive months living/working in Iowa before enrollment; caps enrollment while qualifying | University of Iowa: $11,971/year resident tuition and fees | University of Iowa: $34,247/year nonresident tuition and fees | Veterans and their dependents skip the standard 12-month residency process |
| Kansas | 365 days continuous KS residency before term, plus proof of non-student income/intent | University of Kansas: $12,102 tuition & fees (2024-2025, in-state) | University of Kansas: $30,432 tuition & fees (2024-2025, out-of-state) | Military/veterans qualify for in-state tuition without meeting the 365-day rule |
| Kentucky | Domicile-based test under KY regulation 13 KAR 2:045; no fixed month count given | University of Kentucky: about $13,502/year in-state tuition | University of Kentucky: about $34,140/year out-of-state tuition | Academic Common Market gives KY residents in-state rates in 15 SREB states for unique majors |
| Louisiana | 12 consecutive months of Louisiana residence with intent to remain, for independent students | — | — | Active-duty military and dependents stationed in LA qualify regardless of time in state |
| Maine | Domicile test under Board of Trustees Policy 703; no fixed month count specified | University of Maine (Orono): $13,326/year in-state (2024-25) | University of Maine (Orono): $36,756/year out-of-state (2024-25) | Veterans, active-duty members, and dependents get in-state tuition regardless of residency time |
| Maryland | 12 consecutive months before last registration day; four-part intent test applies | — | — | Active-duty military and dependents in Maryland qualify regardless of time in state |
| Massachusetts | 12-month MA residency required before term, per MASSGrant Plus/MassEducate standard | — | — | MA high school grads qualify for in-state tuition regardless of immigration status |
| Michigan | 12 consecutive months of MI domicile before term; or qualify via Attendance or Service path | — | — | GI Bill veterans, service members and dependents get in-state tuition regardless of time in state |
| Minnesota | One full calendar year of MN residency before first class, mainly for non-school reasons | University of Minnesota Twin Cities: $17,214/year resident tuition & fees (2024-25) | University of Minnesota Twin Cities: $38,362/year nonresident tuition & fees (2024-25) | Full tuition reciprocity with Wisconsin and North Dakota for nearly all students |
| Mississippi | Physical presence plus clear intent to stay indefinitely; no fixed month requirement | — | — | Active-duty military stationed in MS, spouses and children, pay in-state tuition |
| Missouri | Live in Missouri 12 months meeting residency standards before petitioning | — | — | Active-duty military, spouses, and dependents regardless of time in state |
| Montana | Domiciled in Montana 1 year immediately before registration (MCA 20-25-501) | — | — | Active-duty military, spouses, and dependent children qualify immediately |
| Nebraska | 12 months of real domicile in Nebraska before the term, not just a mailing address | — | — | Military/National Guard with duty station or home of record in Nebraska |
| Nevada | 12 months residency before term; license switch within 30 days of moving | UNR 2026-2027 resident tuition and fees: $11,079/year | UNR 2026-2027 nonresident tuition and fees: $31,268/year | Veterans, active-duty military, and dependents at GI Bill-accepting colleges |
| New Hampshire | 12 continuous months in NH before the semester, for reasons beyond school | — | — | New England's Tuition Break for CT, ME, MA, RI, VT residents |
| New Jersey | Legally domiciled in NJ for 12 consecutive months before first enrolling | — | — | Active-duty military and dependents stationed in NJ; no waiting period |
| New Mexico | 12 consecutive months physical presence in NM; clock can't start before age 18 | — | — | DACA students from a NM high school (1+ yr, graduated/GED) get resident rates |
| New York | Legal domicile in NY 12 months before the first day of the enrolling term | SUNY resident tuition: $7,070/year (2025-26) | — | DACA/DREAM Act students via José Peralta New York State DREAM Act |
| North Carolina | NC domicile 12 straight months before term, plus intent to stay permanently | — | — | Active-duty military, spouses, dependents; no 12-month wait required |
| North Dakota | 12 straight months of legal ND residency before term starts (independent students) | NDSU 2026-27 resident tuition: $10,460/year | NDSU 2026-27 nonresident tuition: $15,690/year | Active-duty, Guard/Reserve, veterans, spouses, dependents, and ROTC cadets |
| Ohio | 12 consecutive months in Ohio before enrolling, for reasons beyond school | Miami University 2026-27 resident tuition & fees: $18,520/year | Miami University 2026-27 nonresident tuition & fees: $42,042/year | DACA recipients qualify for in-state tuition with proof of DACA approval (Form I-821D) |
| Oklahoma | Physically & continuously present in OK 1 calendar year before first class | — | — | Veterans, active-duty military, and dependents at GI Bill colleges |
| Oregon | 12 consecutive months of domicile before the term; independent students need a non-school purpose | — | — | DACA/undocumented students via Oregon's Tuition Equity law (3-yr Oregon HS attendance) |
| Pennsylvania | 12 months continuous PA residence before enrollment; clock pauses while in school full-time | — | — | Active-duty military/dependents count as PA residents; veterans/dependents using VA benefits qualify |
| Puerto Rico | — | UPR Mayagüez resident rate was $5,274 in tuition and fees for 2024-25 | — | Veterans, active-duty members and many spouses/dependents get resident tuition via VA benefit rules |
| Rhode Island | 12 consecutive months in RI before first day of classes; over 6 credits/term presumes education-only | URI in-state tuition and fees are $17,476 a year for 2025-26 | URI out-of-state tuition and fees are $38,398 a year for 2025-26 | Military/veterans using GI Bill; dependents follow parent; DACA/non-citizens via Student Success Act |
| South Carolina | 12 continuous months physically present/domiciled in SC before first day of class, no outside ties | — | — | Active-duty military/dependents; full-time SC employees; retirees receiving SC retirement benefits |
| South Dakota | 12 consecutive months in SD before first day of classes; time as a Regents student doesn't count | — | — | Dependents of SD residents; South Dakota Advantage and WUE reciprocity states skip the 12-month wait |
| Tennessee | 12 months continuous TN domicile before certifying in-state; past residence doesn't count if left | — | — | Dependents follow parent's domicile; Vets Act waiver for military/veterans/dependents; DACA excluded |
| Texas | 12 consecutive months living in TX as permanent home before enrollment term, plus lawful US presence | UT Austin in-state tuition and fees run about $10,858 to $13,576 a year for 2025-26 | UT Austin non-resident tuition and fees run about $38,650 to $46,498 a year for 2025-26 | Dependents presumed to share parent's TX domicile; active-duty military/dependents qualify at once |
| Utah | 12 consecutive months physical presence in Utah plus documented intent to stay; max 29 days absence | — | — | Active-duty military/veterans; tribal members; Olympic athletes; USHE transfers with prior residency |
| Vermont | — | UVM in-state tuition runs $8,303 a semester for 2025-26 | UVM out-of-state tuition runs $22,323 a semester for 2025-26 | Dependents follow parent's VT domicile; veterans/dependents using GI Bill get in-state rate |
| Virginia | At least one full year of VA domicile before the term; living there only for school doesn't count | — | — | Military dependents near a VA duty station; no-lawful-status students via 2-yr VA HS attendance |
| Washington | Primary home in WA for 12 months before term starts, for a reason other than attending school | UW resident tuition runs $13,406 a year for 2026-27 | UW nonresident tuition runs $44,460 a year for 2026-27 | Active-duty military/dependents; veterans using GI Bill; tuition equity for undocumented WA grads |
| Washington DC | 12 consecutive months as DC resident before first enrolling in college (for DCTAG) | — | — | Veterans and dependents using GI Bill benefits get in-state tuition regardless of domicile |
| West Virginia | 12 months continued presence before registering, not mainly to attend a WV college | — | — | Active-duty members domiciled in WV before service keep in-state status even if stationed elsewhere |
| Wisconsin | 12 consecutive months as permanent home before semester, plus intent to stay evidence | — | — | Active-duty troops stationed in WI, or within 90 miles, skip the 12-month wait for resident tuition |
| Wyoming | No fixed statewide wait; must show physical residence and intent to stay, not just attend school | — | — | Covered veterans, active-duty members and dependents using GI Bill benefits get in-state rates |
How to use this table
Each row summarises one guide in this series. The figures are the ones quoted in that guide when it was written, and a dash means the guide does not state that item. Open a guide for its sources, the full detail and its latest update date.