Public Universities and Colleges by State: Systems, Flagships and Admission
By Muntasir Minhaz • Published Oct 08, 2026
Fifty-two state guides compare public university systems, flagship campuses, admission rules, and transfer paths, from Iowa's point-based Regent Admission Index to Texas's automatic admission by class rank.
This hub lines up 52 state-level guides to public university systems, covering every US state along with Washington DC and Puerto Rico. The admission basis column shows the widest spread between places: Iowa runs a formula, Regent Admission Index (RAI): 3xACT + 30xGPA + 5xcore years; 245+ gets automatic admission, while Texas relies on Automatic admission by class rank (Top %) rule; others go through holistic review. Mississippi sets a Statewide minimum: 3.20 GPA, or 2.50 GPA+ACT 16, or 2.00 GPA+ACT 18, or NCAA Division I athlete, Maine is Test optional; admits about 97% of applicants based on transcript and recommendation, and California splits by system, UC: 3.0/3.4 GPA min + holistic review; CSU: eligibility index; CCC: open admission.
Start with the admission basis column, since it decides whether class rank, a GPA cutoff, or a point formula controls the application before systems or flagship names matter. A dash means the underlying guide does not state that detail for that place, as with Pennsylvania's flagship field, since PASSHE and the state-related universities do not share one named flagship, or South Dakota's transfer path, which the guide leaves unaddressed. Every place name links through to its full guide, where the systems, flagship, admission, and transfer claims carry their original sources for closer checking.
Compare by state
| State | Public systems | Flagship | Admission basis | Transfer path |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | ACHE oversees 14 public universities; two multi-campus systems plus Community College System | University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa; Auburn University (other flagship-level campus) | Test scores optional unless GPA below 3.0 (then ACT/SAT required for fall 2027) | Statewide transfer agreements move community-college gen-ed credit to any public 4-year university |
| Alaska | Single University of Alaska (UA) system with a Board of Regents; three universities under it | University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) — flagship and main research university | No SAT/ACT required at UAF; min 2.5 GPA + 16-credit core curriculum | Community-campus credits transfer directly into parent university's bachelor's program |
| Arizona | Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR) governs ASU, University of Arizona, and NAU | ASU Tempe, U of A Tucson, and NAU Flagstaff — each the system's flagship campus | No ACT/SAT required; GPA-based assured admission (ASU/UA), holistic review (NAU) | Statewide course-equivalency system moves community-college credit into matching ASU/UA/NAU courses |
| Arkansas | Two systems: University of Arkansas System (flagship) and Arkansas State University System | University of Arkansas, Fayetteville | GPA-based: 3.20+ GPA reviewed without test score; below 3.20 needs ACT/SAT/Accuplacer | Community-college-first path; transfer to any four-year campus after core credits done |
| California | University of California, California State University, California Community Colleges | UC Berkeley and UCLA | UC: 3.0/3.4 GPA min + holistic review; CSU: eligibility index; CCC: open admission | ADT guarantees CSU admission with junior standing after minimum GPA met |
| Colorado | CU System, CSU System, 5 standalone universities, Colorado Community College System (CCCS) | CU Boulder (CU System) and CSU Fort Collins (CSU System) — both flagships | GPA/test-score range guides decisions; CU Boulder & CSU Fort Collins admit without ACT/SAT | gtPathways: assoc. degree or core curriculum at 2.7+ GPA guarantees admission statewide |
| Connecticut | UConn (self-governed flagship) and CSCU (Connecticut State Colleges and Universities) | University of Connecticut (UConn), Storrs | UConn: selective holistic review; CAAP grants auto admission at 3.0 weighted/2.75 unweighted GPA | CT State Community College: open admission, transfer pathways into CSU schools and UConn |
| Delaware | No systems — three standalone public institutions, each with its own governing board | University of Delaware (UD), Newark | UD: selective holistic review; DSU: broader access; Delaware Tech: open admission | Delaware Tech holds formal transfer agreements into bachelor's programs at UD and DSU |
| Florida | State University System of Florida (SUS) and Florida College System | University of Florida (UF) and Florida State University (FSU) | Holistic review systemwide; FSU requires SAT/ACT/CLT, UF holistic and selective | AA degree from Florida College System guarantees admission somewhere in the SUS (2+2 pathway) |
| Georgia | University System of Georgia (USG); Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) is separate | University of Georgia (UGA) and Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech) | 23 of 26 USG schools test-optional for 2025-26; UGA & Georgia Tech still require scores | Common course numbering: core classes transfer as equivalent credit at any USG university |
| Hawaii | Single University of Hawaii (UH) System — one Board of Regents, 10 campuses | UH Manoa, Honolulu | GPA-based: 3.2+ GPA guarantees admission for residents; test-optional (Do No Harm review) | Community colleges share common course numbering with 4-year UH campuses; credits transfer directly |
| Idaho | No multi-campus systems — Idaho State Board of Education oversees all public colleges | University of Idaho, Moscow | Each university sets own admission process/GPA+test thresholds; community colleges open admission | Community colleges hold transfer agreements; gen-ed credit applies toward a bachelor's degree |
| Illinois | University of Illinois System, Southern Illinois University System, seven independent universities | University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | Reviews self-reported record and coursework rather than a GPA cutoff; test scores optional | Illinois Articulation Initiative sets common course equivalencies for transfer credit |
| Indiana | Indiana University, Purdue University, independent universities, Ivy Tech two-year system | IU Bloomington and Purdue West Lafayette | Holistic review; IU Bloomington is test-optional, weighing coursework over test scores | Credits from Ivy Tech or a regional campus generally transfer to a flagship when you move there |
| Iowa | Iowa Board of Regents governs University of Iowa, Iowa State University, University of Northern Iowa | University of Iowa | Regent Admission Index (RAI): 3xACT + 30xGPA + 5xcore years; 245+ gets automatic admission | 15 community colleges offer transfer agreements into the Regent universities |
| Kansas | Kansas Board of Regents oversees six state universities; Washburn sits outside this structure | University of Kansas | Qualified-admissions review weighing GPA, class rank and test scores; KU now admits on GPA alone | Credits from the 19 community colleges transfer into Regents via articulation agreements |
| Kentucky | KCTCS (16 colleges) and CPE coordinate Kentucky's 8 public universities | University of Kentucky and University of Louisville | Holistic review of GPA, course rigor, and optional test scores at flagships | KCTCS offers open admission and a transfer path into the 8 public universities |
| Louisiana | LSU, Southern University, University of Louisiana, and Community and Technical College Systems | Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) | Flagships require college-prep curriculum, minimum GPA, and test scores or holistic review | LCTCS credits transfer into four-year systems through statewide articulation agreements |
| Maine | University of Maine System (UMS) and Maine Community College System (MCCS) | University of Maine (Orono) | Test optional; admits about 97% of applicants based on transcript and recommendation | MCCS colleges have transfer agreements into UMS bachelor's programs |
| Maryland | University System of Maryland (USM); independent public universities; county community colleges | University of Maryland, College Park | Holistic review; College Park has the most selective standards of any Maryland public campus | 2+2 articulation agreements guarantee credit transfer from community colleges into USM institutions |
| Massachusetts | University of Massachusetts (UMass), 9 state universities, 15 community colleges | UMass Amherst | UMass: selective, GPA and coursework based; state universities: moderately selective | MassTransfer moves associate-degree credits into UMass or a state university |
| Michigan | 15 independently governed public universities; 28 public community colleges | University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Wayne State University | Holistic review; GPA and course rigor weigh more than any single number | Michigan Transfer Agreement applies community college gen-ed credit toward a bachelor's degree |
| Minnesota | University of Minnesota system (5 campuses); Minnesota State (26 colleges, 7 universities) | University of Minnesota, Twin Cities | Holistic review; Twin Cities admitted ~80% of applicants for fall 2024, no required test score | Minnesota State transfer agreement moves credits into a four-year university or U of M |
| Mississippi | IHL Board of Trustees governs all 8 public universities | University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) and Mississippi State University | Statewide minimum: 3.20 GPA, or 2.50 GPA+ACT 16, or 2.00 GPA+ACT 18, or NCAA Division I athlete | Mississippi Articulation and Transfer Tool moves community college credits to university |
| Missouri | UM System (4 campuses); 8 independent public universities; community college districts | University of Missouri (Mizzou), Columbia | GPA, course rigor, and test scores if submitted (varies by campus) | CORE 42 general education block guarantees transfer credit to any Missouri public 4-year school |
| Montana | Montana University System (MUS), overseen by the Montana Board of Regents | University of Montana (Missoula) and Montana State University (Bozeman) — two flagships | System-wide minimum standard: GPA, class rank, college-prep coursework (no single cutoff score) | MUS common course numbering moves community-college credits cleanly between all campuses |
| Nebraska | University of Nebraska system; Nebraska State College System; six community colleges | University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) | Admission grows more selective by tier: open to holistic (GPA, coursework, test scores) | Community college credits transfer as first two years into UNL system or a state college |
| Nevada | Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE), run by an elected Board of Regents | University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) and University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) | GPA and coursework thresholds, not a single index score (UNR/UNLV each set minimums) | NSHE community-college credits transfer directly; AA grads enter UNR/UNLV/NSU with junior standing |
| New Hampshire | University System of New Hampshire (USNH) and Community College System of NH (CCSNH) | University of New Hampshire (UNH), Durham | Holistic: college-prep coursework, grades, recommendation; test-optional (UNH Durham) | CCSNH credits transfer directly into USNH bachelor's programs via articulation agreements |
| New Jersey | Rutgers (flagship), nine state colleges/universities, and county college system (18 colleges) | Rutgers, The State University (New Brunswick is largest/most selective campus) | GPA, course rigor (honors/AP/dual enrollment), and SAT/ACT if still considered | NJ Transfer guarantees county-college associate credits apply to a partner bachelor's |
| New Mexico | HED coordinates 29 public institutions; each keeps its own Board of Regents (no central system) | University of New Mexico (UNM), Albuquerque | GPA and coursework review rather than a strict test-score cutoff; most campuses test-optional | UNM/NMSU branch campuses offer open admission and a direct transfer path into the main campus |
| New York | State University of New York (SUNY) and City University of New York (CUNY) | No single flagship — four SUNY university centers: Albany, Binghamton, Buffalo, Stony Brook | SUNY: holistic review weighing GPA, course rigor, essays over test scores (most test-optional) | Guaranteed transfer agreement moves community-college credits into a 4-year campus in-system |
| North Carolina | University of North Carolina System (16 universities) and NC Community College System (58 colleges) | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | Min weighted GPA 2.5; GPA 2.5-2.8 needs ACT/SAT; above 2.8 can apply test-optional | Associate-degree transfer credits place students into UNC System as juniors (articulation) |
| North Dakota | North Dakota University System (NDUS), governed by one State Board of Higher Education | University of North Dakota (UND) and North Dakota State University (NDSU) | GPA plus ACT/SAT weighed together, no single fixed cutoff (NDSU/UND) | Two-year college credits transfer into NDSU/UND or regional universities without extra evaluation |
| Ohio | Ohio Dept of Higher Education oversees 14 public universities and 23 community/technical colleges | Ohio State University, Columbus | Holistic review (GPA, class rank, course rigor, test scores); ~61% acceptance at Ohio State | Statewide transfer agreements guarantee associate-degree credit transfers anywhere in Ohio |
| Oklahoma | OSRHE coordinates 25 colleges/universities, 10 constituent agencies, 1 university center | University of Oklahoma (OU), Norman and Oklahoma State University (OSU), Stillwater | Assured admission: 3.0 GPA + top 33.3% class rank, OR 3.0 GPA + 21 ACT/1060 SAT | State system standardizes transfer credit across public campuses statewide |
| Oregon | No single system; HECC (Higher Education Coordinating Commission) coordinates policy and funding | University of Oregon and Oregon State University (two flagship-tier research universities) | GPA/coursework weighted over test scores; SAT/ACT not required for most applicants | Transfer under published agreements between community colleges and universities |
| Pennsylvania | PASSHE (10 schools), state-related (Penn State, Pitt, Temple, Lincoln), 15 community colleges | — | Test-optional at PASSHE; grades and course rigor weighted over test scores | Complete associate degree then transfer credits into PASSHE or state-related university |
| Puerto Rico | University of Puerto Rico (UPR) system | Río Piedras (comprehensive) and Mayagüez (engineering/STEM) | IGS index combining high school GPA with PAA or SAT scores | No community colleges; UPR regional campuses offer associate degrees before transferring |
| Rhode Island | URI (own Board of Trustees); RIC and CCRI under Council on Postsecondary Education (RIOPC) | University of Rhode Island (URI) | Test-optional at URI and RIC; CCRI is open admission (no GPA/test requirement) | CCRI holds articulation agreements mapping associate courses to URI/RIC bachelor's requirements |
| South Carolina | South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (CHE) coordinates all public tiers | USC Columbia and Clemson University (two undergraduate flagships) | Test not required; holistic review of GPA/transcript (test scores considered if submitted) | Technical colleges hold articulation agreements transferring credits to USC/Clemson |
| South Dakota | South Dakota Board of Regents (SDBOR) and Board of Technical Education | University of South Dakota (USD) | Meet any one threshold: min ACT/SAT score, min GPA, or class rank | — |
| Tennessee | UT System, six locally-governed universities (ex-TBR), and TBR (community/tech colleges) | University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UT Knoxville) | GPA and course rigor weighted; many campuses test-optional | TN Transfer Pathway maps associate tracks to bachelor's programs; credits transfer as a block |
| Texas | Six systems (UT, A&M, Texas State, Tech, Houston, North Texas) + 2 independents | UT Austin | Automatic admission by class rank (Top %) rule; others go through holistic review | Common course numbering system transfers core courses to any Texas public university |
| Utah | Utah System of Higher Education (USHE), 16 institutions | University of Utah | Tiered: open at 2-yr/tech; regional reviews GPA/curriculum; U of Utah/USU weigh GPA & test scores | Statewide articulation agreements map gen-ed courses across all USHE campuses for transfer |
| Vermont | UVM, Vermont State University (VTSU), and Community College of Vermont (CCV) | University of Vermont (UVM) | Test-optional holistic review; middle 50% GPA 3.8, SAT 670-740/650-740 | CCV credits transfer to UVM/VTSU; all three accept credit from each other |
| Virginia | No single system; SCHEV sets statewide policy but doesn't admit students or set price | University of Virginia (UVA) and Virginia Tech (two flagships) | Holistic review; grades, course rigor, essays, activities weighted over test scores | Guaranteed transfer agreements via Transfer Virginia portal to partner four-year schools |
| Washington | Six 4-year universities (own boards); SBCTC oversees 34 community/technical colleges | University of Washington (UW) | Holistic review (transcript, essays, activities); most campuses don't require SAT/ACT | DTA associate degree transfers students in as a junior at 4-year universities |
| Washington DC | No system — DC funds a single public university, UDC | No flagship — UDC is the only public option | Test-optional, high school transcript review | Community college credits transfer into UDC's four-year programs, same institution |
| West Virginia | WV Higher Education Policy Commission; Community and Technical College System | West Virginia University (WVU), Morgantown | GPA and core coursework review, not competitive | Credits transfer toward a bachelor's at WVU, Marshall, or a regional university |
| Wisconsin | Universities of Wisconsin; Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) | UW-Madison | GPA/coursework review at most campuses, holistic essays at UW-Madison | WTCS credits transfer directly into a UW bachelor's via articulation agreements |
| Wyoming | Wyoming Community College Commission (seven colleges); no system for the single university | University of Wyoming, Laramie | Transcript, coursework, and test score review | Shared course numbering system aligns community college credits with UW courses |
How to use this table
Each row summarises one guide in this series. The figures are the ones quoted in that guide when it was written, and a dash means the guide does not state that item. Open a guide for its sources, the full detail and its latest update date.