Student Housing and Hostel Life in Africa by Country
By Muntasir Minhaz • Published Oct 08, 2026
Hostel and off-campus housing costs, bed allocation rules, and rental checks vary widely across the 23 African countries covered here, from Tunisia's roughly 25-30 TND a month hostel room to Zimbabwe's $5.50-a-day rate.
This hub covers 23 African countries, each linked to its own student housing and hostel life guide. Hostel costs span from Tunisia's cite universitaire room at roughly 25-30 TND a month (about $8-10) to Zimbabwe's University of Zimbabwe rate of about $5.50 a day, near $616 for a 112-day semester, while Zambia's UNZA charges K5,850 a year against roughly 3,736 hostel beds (3,294 Main, 442 Ridgeway). Allocation rules vary just as widely: Senegal assigns about 70% of places by academic merit and the rest by social grounds, Burkina Faso spreads 7,390 beds across 12 cites, and Somalia's Barwaaqo bundles tuition, room, and board into one package of about $3,500 a year.
Each row links to a full country guide with its own sources, so check the allocation rules column first since beds are rarely guaranteed and priority criteria (first-years, scholarship holders, out-of-town students, academic merit) decide who gets a place before cost does. A dash means that country's guide does not state a figure for hostel cost or off-campus rent, not that housing is free or unavailable. Before relying on any number here, open the linked guide to confirm the current rate and what it includes, such as utilities or meals, since fees and bed counts change by term and by institution.
Compare by country
| Country | Hostel cost | Hostel availability | Off-campus rent | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angola | — | Limited; allocated via Serviços de Acção Social office, not open booking | roughly 180,000 Kz to 500,000 Kz a month (~195 to 545 USD) | View room in person, confirm landlord's ownership/right to rent, get agreement in writing |
| Benin | shared cabins from ~2,500 FCFA/month, studios from ~5,000 FCFA/month | Fixed number of beds; cabins of 2-4 beds; demand outstrips supply every year | roughly 23,000-55,000 FCFA a month (about 35-90 USD) | Visit in person; check lock, window security, water supply, toilet condition |
| Botswana | — | Demand outstrips supply; allocated by order received or priority rules | — | Confirm water/electricity access and whether included in rent |
| Burkina Faso | — | 12 cités, 7,390 beds total; demand outstrips supply | — | View room in person before paying any deposit (if renting privately) |
| Cameroon | about 4,000-25,000 FCFA a month (Yaoundé II residence) | Falls short of demand; priority to first-years, students from far regions, scholarship holders | Yaoundé 30,000-80,000 FCFA/month (Dschang/Buea 10,000-20,000 FCFA/month) | Visit in person; check water and electricity actually work before paying |
| DR Congo | UNIKIN ~$240/year (up from $32 pre-renovation) | Capacity far below demand; renovated spots fill fast once registration opens | — | Ask about water/electricity access directly; interruptions common |
| Guinea | — | Falls short of enrollment; priority to out-of-town students with no local family | — | Check water supply reliability before signing |
| Ivory Coast | — | Demand far exceeds supply; UFHB built for 30,000, held ~65,000 students by 2015 | — | Visit in person, confirm water and electricity work, before paying |
| Libya | — | Priority to out-of-town students; needs-based; male/female housed separately | — | Confirm hostel availability and deadlines directly with your specific university |
| Madagascar | around 10,000 Ariary a month (CROU residence) | Only 15-20% of Antananarivo students secure a residence room | 80,000-150,000 Ariary a month (private furnished room) | Visit in person; check doors, locks and windows actually work |
| Malawi | KUHeS ~USD200/month (international students, single bed ensuite) | Shared rooms; allocated via accommodation office at registration; demand outstrips supply | — | Inspect in person, confirm water/electricity work, check neighbourhood safety |
| Mali | — | Demand outstrips supply; priority to bourse holders and out-of-town students | — | Visit in person; confirm landlord's identity matches receipt name |
| Mauritius | — | Small capacity; priority to students from Rodrigues/outer islands who can't commute daily | — | Written lease with rent, deposit, notice period, utilities included |
| Mozambique | — | Beds fall well short of demand; priority to first-years, scholarship and needy students | — | Written rental agreement stating rent, deposit, utilities included |
| Namibia | — | Not enough beds for every student; priority to first-years and those from outside town | — | Written lease stating rent, deposit, and notice period |
| Rwanda | — | Capacity rarely covers every student; priority to first-years and sponsored students | — | Confirm landlord known to other students or on university's off-campus list |
| Senegal | ~3,000-4,000 FCFA (admin fee, not market rent) | ~70% of places by academic merit, rest by social grounds; demand outpaces supply | Dakar rooms ~40,000-100,000 FCFA/month; studios ~90,000-200,000 FCFA/month | Confirm if water, electricity, Wi-Fi are bundled or billed separately |
| Somalia | Barwaaqo total package (tuition+room+board) ~$3,500/year | Dorms only at a few universities (e.g. Barwaaqo); most have no residential campuses | — | View the room in person or through someone you trust before paying anything |
| Sudan | — | Spots limited relative to student body; priority by need, distance, academic standing | — | Confirm current security conditions in the specific neighborhood before signing a lease |
| Togo | — | Cannot house anywhere close to total enrollment; priority to those from far outside, first-years | — | Visit the room in person before paying anything |
| Tunisia | Cite universitaire room ~25-30 TND/month (~$8-10) | Priority to students living far from their university; demand exceeds supply | Private studio ~150-250 TND/month in mid-size student cities | Get every agreement in writing, including rent, deposit, and what's included |
| Zambia | K5,850 a year at UNZA | UNZA has ~3,736 hostel beds (3,294 Main, 442 Ridgeway); not guaranteed to every student | — | Confirm landlord's identity and get a written agreement before paying a deposit |
| Zimbabwe | UZ ~$5.50/day (~$616/112-day semester); GZU ~$200-300/semester shared room | First-years and those from outside the city get first priority for limited hostel beds | Harare shared housing ~$100-200/month per person; 1-bed ~$398 Harare vs ~$183 Bulawayo | Never pay a full term or year in advance to an unverified landlord |
How to use this table
Each row summarises one guide in this series. The figures are the ones quoted in that guide when it was written, and a dash means the guide does not state that item. Open a guide for its sources, the full detail and its latest update date.