Offered by Athabasca University in Athabasca, Canada, Master of Counselling is a master's degree in Counselling & Psychotherapy programme. The programme runs for 3.5 years, delivered fully online. It carries 36.0 credits (credits). Tuition for international students is CAD 34,716 per total (CAD 31,716 per total for local students).
At a glance
Degree:Master's Degree
Field:Counselling & Psychotherapy
Duration: 3.5 years
Delivery: Online
Credits: 36.0 (credits)
Local tuition: CAD 31,716 / total
International tuition: CAD 34,716 / total
Last checked September 2026 · Source: athabascau.ca ·
Program details
Overview
The Master of Counselling at Athabasca University is a 36-credit online graduate program with a minimum of 24 credits completed through Athabasca University itself. Students choose between a course-based or a thesis-based route, and the curriculum includes core courses in counselling skills, professional ethics, and research methods alongside specialized practicum experience. A Counselling Psychology specialization track is available within the program and is recognized by the College of Alberta Psychologists, with coursework meeting the graduate requirements for licensure as a Registered Psychologist in Alberta. The program has a single annual intake, with an application deadline of January 15 and classes beginning in September; it can be completed in as little as 3.5 years of full-time study, with a maximum of seven years allowed. It prepares graduates for careers as counselling therapists, counselling psychologists, or psychotherapists. Admission requires an undergraduate degree, a minimum grade point average, prior psychology coursework, and preferably some experience in a counselling-related field. The program suits individuals already working toward or within helping professions who want graduate-level clinical training delivered in an online, practicum-supported format.
Requirements
Minimum GPA:3.00 / 4.0
Admission Requirements: Requires an undergraduate degree with a minimum GPA and a minimum number of credits in psychology or educational psychology (exact GPA and credit count not stated on the program page — see the full calendar entry); counselling experience is preferred but not stated as mandatory. Only one intake per year. For non-thesis learners, registration as a psychologist in Alberta requires 72 psychology credits in total, so 36 credits beyond the program's 36 are needed; courses in the Counselling Psychology specialization are designed to meet the graduate coursework requirements for licensure as a registered psychologist with the College of Alberta Psychologists.
Application Details
Start Date:September (fall term); only one Master of Counselling intake each year