Athabasca University is a public research university in Athabasca, Alberta, and Canada's original open online university.
Established on June 25, 1970, it delivers virtually all of its teaching at a distance, allowing students of all ages and backgrounds to study from anywhere in the world. More than 35,000 students take its 850-plus courses each year across undergraduate and graduate certificates, diplomas, bachelor's, master's, and doctoral programs offered through the Faculties of Business, Health Disciplines, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science and Technology, and Graduate Studies.
Its defining feature is openness: anyone 16 or older can be admitted to undergraduate study regardless of previous academic record, and most individualized-study courses can be started year-round with a pay-per-course fee model whose price includes textbooks, course materials, and tutor support. Because instruction is online, there is no residential campus, housing, or conventional campus intake; the Athabasca location serves as the university's administrative home.
This flexibility makes AU a common choice for working adults, students completing degrees part-time, visiting students taking transfer credit, and international learners who study from their home countries without needing a Canadian study permit.
Location & Contact
Athabasca University's address, phone, email, and social presence. Department-level scholarship enquiries route faster through the specific faculty rather than central admissions.
Address: 1 University Drive, Athabasca, AB T9S 3A3, Canada
Key statistics on Athabasca University's student population, faculty size, and external recognition. International vs domestic student split is often missing from these figures but matters for campus culture.
Academic Year: Fee year runs Sept. 1 to Aug. 31. Most undergraduate individualized-study courses can be started on the first of any month year-round; there is no fixed semester intake. Grouped-study and graduate courses have defined start and end dates.
Admission Requirements: DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONAL — Most undergraduate programs are open admission with no specific admission requirements — Athabasca admits students 16 years of age or older, and past post-secondary performance does not prevent admission — but some programs have specific entry requirements. Non-Canadian students study online from their home country and, while residing outside Canada, do not require a Canadian study permit.
HOW/WHERE TO APPLY (undergraduate) — Submit the online Undergraduate General Application through Athabasca's application system, which for many applicants routes through the ApplyAlberta portal "regardless of where you live," then return to the AU site to finish the application, pay the one-time non-refundable application fee (plus an evaluation fee if applicable), and have official transcripts sent. Admission, program enrolment and course registration are open year-round — Athabasca states "there are no application deadlines for most undergraduate programs."
ENGLISH LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY — Applicants whose first language is not English must demonstrate proficiency with one of: IELTS Academic 6.0 overall; TOEFL iBT 80 with a minimum essay score of 20 (tests taken before Jan. 21, 2026), or on the new TOEFL scale for tests from Jan. 21, 2026 onward, an overall score of 4 with at least 3.5 in Reading, Listening and Writing and 4 in Speaking; PTE Academic 59 overall with no skill below 51; Duolingo 105 overall with no band below 75; CAEL 60; or MELAB 80. Exemptions: 15 transferable credits (about five 3-credit courses) from a recognized English-speaking post-secondary institution, or completing Athabasca's own English Language Proficiency Program with an overall average of 75% (GPA 3.0).
GRADUATE PROGRAMS — Graduate programs set their own admission requirements, English-proficiency standards and application deadlines rather than following the undergraduate open-admission policy; see each program's own page (for example, the Master of Nursing – Nurse Practitioner requires RN licensure and 5,000 hours of recent clinical practice).
Total Students: 35,000
Academic Structures
The colleges, schools, and faculties that house Athabasca University's degrees are below. Clinical units and teaching hospitals are often part of medical schools, with separate governance arrangements.
Unit5 items
Faculty of Business
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Faculty of Health Disciplines
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Faculty of Science and Technology
Programs Offered
Athabasca University's catalogue, with name search and level grouping. Capstone or dissertation requirements vary across programmes — confirm what you'll be assessed on before applying.
Social & Cultural Studies · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Anthropology Major. beyond being 16 years of age o...
Literature · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for either the 3-year or the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, English Major. beyond being 1...
Linguistics & Language Studies · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for either the 3-year or the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, French Major. beyond being 16...
Liberal Arts · 3 years · 90 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for either the 3-year or the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, General. beyond being 16 year...
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for either the 3-year or the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, History Major. beyond being 1...
Humanities & Cultural Studies · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Humanities Major. beyond being 16 years of age or...
Social & Cultural Studies · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Labour Studies Major. beyond being 16 years of age...
Economics · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Political Economy Major. beyond being 16 years of...
Politics & International Relations · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Political Science Major. beyond being 16 years of...
Psychology · 4 years · 120 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 569/creditLocal tuition:CAD 303/credit
Athabasca University admits this program on an open-entry basis: the program page states that there are no formal admission requirements for either the 3-year or the 4-year Bachelor of Arts, Psychology Major. beyond bein...
Business Administration · 3 years · 48 credits credits · Online
Local tuition:CAD 56,804/totalStart:August; January; May (3 intakes each year)
Admission requirements vary by route. MBA for Executives: an undergraduate degree from an accredited post-secondary institution and at least 3 years of acceptable managerial experience; or an acceptable professional desi...
International tuition:CAD 2,302/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Spring, Fall, or WinterDeadline:Jan. 15, May 15, or Sep. 15
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree, along with strong analytical, writing, and critical-thinking skills, plus completion of an academic writing assessment. Applicants who do not hold a degree may still apply by su...
The program's own in-residence electives page has no admission content and links onward to the Faculty of Business's Master of Business Administration for Executives program, whose admissions and MBA entry-routes pages s...
International tuition:CAD 34,716/totalLocal tuition:CAD 31,716/totalStart:September (fall term); only one Master of Counselling intake each yearDeadline:Jan 15, 2026
Requires an undergraduate degree with a minimum GPA and a minimum number of credits in psychology or educational psychology (exact GPA and credit count not stated on the program page — see the full calendar entry); couns...
International tuition:CAD 25,322/totalLocal tuition:CAD 22,572/totalStart:Spring; Fall; Winter
Requires a baccalaureate degree or equivalent education and experience. No specific GPA or English-proficiency test score is published for this program on its own page.
International tuition:CAD 24,079/totalLocal tuition:CAD 21,329/totalStart:September; January; May
Requires a 4-year health-related baccalaureate degree with a minimum GPA, or a 4-year non-health-related degree plus healthcare-field experience (exact GPA threshold not stated on the program page). No English-test score...
International tuition:CAD 24,079/totalLocal tuition:CAD 21,329/totalStart:September; January; May
You must be a registered nurse with a 4-year baccalaureate degree to apply. Exact GPA, English-test score and work-experience thresholds are not stated on the program page (see the full calendar entry). Must be completed...
International tuition:CAD 24,079/totalLocal tuition:CAD 21,329/totalStart:May 2027; January 2028; September 2028Min. GPA:3.50 / 4.0
Applicants must be registered nurses holding a 4-year baccalaureate degree in nursing, with a minimum of 5,000 hours of recent full-time-equivalent direct clinical practice as an RN, and current RN licensure in the Canad...
Information Systems & Technology · 3 years · 39 credits credits · Online
International tuition:CAD 30,108/totalLocal tuition:CAD 26,858/totalStart:Fall; Winter (2 intakes each year)
Requires a baccalaureate degree in a related area, or equivalent education and experience. No specific GPA or English-test score is published for this program on its own page.
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Continuous admission (as of July 1, 2025)
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in science, engineering, or arts with appropriate science content. Applicants who do not hold such a degree may still apply by submitting a written rationale based on equivalent...
Business Administration · 4 years · 21 credits credits · Blended
Local tuition:CAD 63,589/totalStart:September 2027Deadline:Mar 15, 2027
Requires an MBA or equivalent master's degree, plus at least 5 years of significant management and/or professional work experience. No specific GPA or English-test score is published for this program on its own page. Onl...
Local tuition:CAD 57,024/totalStart:MayDeadline:January 31 (one EdD intake per year)
Admission requires a master's degree, preferably completed with a thesis, in a relevant field, along with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.7 (85%). Applicants must also demonstrate significant experience in open...
International tuition:CAD 223/creditLocal tuition:CAD 223/credit
The University Certificate, Accounting page states this program itself has no formal admission requirements beyond being 16 years of age or older, and applicants can enrol at any time regardless of prior education, consi...
International tuition:CAD 223/creditLocal tuition:CAD 223/credit
Entry to the University Certificate, Advanced Accounting requires the University Certificate, Accounting (or an equivalent credential) as a prerequisite; there is no separate GPA, portfolio, or interview requirement publ...
International tuition:CAD 223/creditLocal tuition:CAD 223/credit
The University Certificate, Finance page states this program itself has no formal admission requirements beyond being 16 years of age or older, and applicants can enrol at any time regardless of prior education, consiste...
International tuition:CAD 207/creditLocal tuition:CAD 207/credit
The University Certificate, Human Resources and Labour Relations page states this program itself has no formal admission requirements beyond being 16 years of age or older, and applicants can enrol at any time regardless...
International tuition:CAD 223/creditLocal tuition:CAD 223/credit
The University Certificate, Marketing page states this program itself has no formal admission requirements beyond being 16 years of age or older, and applicants can enrol at any time regardless of prior education, consis...
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Fall or Winter
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in computer science, information systems, or a related field. The Graduate Certificate – Artificial Intelligence is a 12-credit online graduate program with two intakes each year...
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Every September or every JanuaryDeadline:March 1 or October 1
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in computer science, information systems, or a related field; a degree together with significant information and communications technology (ICT) experience, including high-level...
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Every September or every JanuaryDeadline:March 1 or October 1
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in computer science, information systems, or a related field; a degree together with significant information technology (IT) experience; or a CIPS Information Systems Professiona...
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Every September or every JanuaryDeadline:March 1 or October 1
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in computer science, information systems, or a related field; a degree together with significant information technology (IT) experience; or a CIPS Information Systems Professiona...
International tuition:CAD 2,302/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Spring, Fall, or WinterDeadline:Jan. 15, May 15, or Sep. 15
Admission requires a 3- or 4-year baccalaureate degree from a recognized institution. Applicants who do not hold a degree may still apply by submitting a written rationale based on equivalent education and experience. Th...
International tuition:CAD 2,302/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Spring, Fall, or WinterDeadline:Jan. 15, May 15, or Sep. 15
Admission requires a 3- or 4-year baccalaureate degree from a recognized institution. Applicants who do not hold a degree may still apply by submitting a written rationale based on equivalent education and experience. Th...
International tuition:CAD 207/creditLocal tuition:CAD 207/creditStart:Continuous — new starts available monthly
Admission requires completion of a 4-year Bachelor of Education degree or its equivalent. An introductory course in special education is strongly recommended before starting the program; applicants who have not taken one...
International tuition:CAD 2,189/creditLocal tuition:CAD 1,939/creditStart:September, January, or MayDeadline:April 1, August 1, or December 1
Admission requires a related master's degree in counselling, applied psychology, or educational psychology, with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.0, plus completion of the required undergraduate and graduate core...
International tuition:CAD 2,316/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,066/creditStart:Continuous — courses begin the first day of every month
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree in architecture, or a related discipline, with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 2.3; alternatively, applicants who have completed RAIC Syllabus Parts 1 and 2, together with...
International tuition:CAD 2,189/creditLocal tuition:CAD 1,939/creditStart:SeptemberDeadline:Jan 15, 2026
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree with a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 2.5 in the last 30 credits attempted, plus completion of 3 courses (9 credits) in psychology or educational psychology. There is a sin...
International tuition:CAD 2,302/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Spring, Fall, or WinterDeadline:Jan. 15, May 15, or Sep. 15
Admission requires a 3- or 4-year baccalaureate degree from a recognized institution. Applicants who do not hold a degree may still apply by submitting a written rationale based on equivalent education and experience. Th...
International tuition:CAD 2,208/creditLocal tuition:CAD 1,958/creditStart:Continuous admission
Admission requires a baccalaureate degree, together with demonstrated competence in select undergraduate course topics covered in HERM 322, HERM 327, HERM 339, and PHIL/HERM 334. The program runs on a continuous admissio...
International tuition:CAD 2,302/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Spring, Fall, or WinterDeadline:Jan. 15, May 15, or Sep. 15
Admission requires a 3- or 4-year baccalaureate degree from a recognized institution. Applicants who do not hold a degree may still apply by submitting a written rationale based on equivalent education and experience. Th...
International tuition:CAD 2,170/creditLocal tuition:CAD 2,052/creditStart:Continuous — courses begin the first day of every month
Admission requires a recognized law degree (LL.B. or J.D.); applicants without one may instead qualify with Program Director approval based on a related degree plus 3 years of relevant legislative drafting experience. Th...
Local tuition:CAD 20,856/totalStart:Aug. 2027, Jan. 2027, or May 2027
Admission offers three possible routes into the program: a baccalaureate degree plus 3 years of managerial experience; an approved professional designation plus 5 years of managerial experience; or 8 years of substantial...
International tuition:CAD 2,189/creditLocal tuition:CAD 1,939/creditStart:May 2027, January 2028, or September 2028
Admission requires a master's degree in nursing (Canadian or equivalent), a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.5, and 5,000 hours of recent Canadian clinical nursing experience, including at least 3,500 hours of dire...
Application guidance for Athabasca University, structured as five practical steps with attention to documents and admissions communication.
1
Browse the programme catalogue
Use the programme finder to browse Athabasca University's 67 active programmes. Filter by keyword or scan by degree level. Read curriculum details on each programme's dedicated page if available.
2
Check eligibility for your chosen programme
Programme-level requirements at Athabasca University typically include academic transcripts, language proficiency proof, identity documents, and a personal statement or interview. Confirm specific requirements with the admissions office.
3
Get your documents ready
Prepare academic transcripts, ID/passport copies, language proficiency proof, a personal statement, and reference letters. International candidates may need apostilled or notarised translations — start early to avoid deadline pressure.
4
Apply through the official channel
Athabasca University processes applications through www.athabascau.ca. Create an account, fill out the application form, and submit your documents. Note application deadlines, which vary by intake and programme.
5
Reach out and track your application
Confirm receipt of your application with the admissions office and keep an eye on your portal for status changes. Reach the institution by phone at +1 800-788-9041. Quick responses to any follow-up requests keep your application moving smoothly through the review process.
Frequently Asked Questions about Athabasca University
Frequently asked questions about Athabasca University, covering the institutional basics most prospective applicants want to confirm first.
How old is Athabasca University?
The institution opened in 1970 (approximately 56 years ago).
What city is Athabasca University in?
Athabasca University operates from Athabasca, Canada.
How big is Athabasca University's student body?
Athabasca University serves approximately 35,000 students.
Where does Athabasca University stand in university rankings?
It ranks #2990 globally and #47 in Canada.
How is Athabasca University organised academically?
Athabasca University is organised into 5 academic units across its disciplines.
Where can I learn more about Athabasca University?
Athabasca University's official website is www.athabascau.ca.
Top-Ranked Universities in Canada
Looking for the strongest names in Canada? These are the highest-ranked institutions nationally — useful context for benchmarking Athabasca University against the country's most established universities. National benchmarks also signal the upper bound of academic prestige in Canada.
Students considering Athabasca University often compare it against universities in the same region. Below are nearby institutions with comparable academic departments and student support structures, useful for cross-shortlisting.
Capstone projects versus dissertation requirements differ across Education & Teaching programmes. The output type (project, thesis, portfolio) affects what you can show graduate schools or employers afterward.
Cross-peer scholarship reciprocity exists in some systems where peer institutions accept each other's scholarship students. Worth checking for Athabasca University if location flexibility matters.