PhD in Veterinary Biomedical Sciences at University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon, Canada is a doctorate in Veterinary Medicine programme. The programme runs for 4 years, delivered on campus. Tuition for international students is CAD 5,637 per year (CAD 5,637 per year for local students).
Also offered as: Master's Degree
At a glance
Degree:Doctorate
Field:Veterinary Medicine
Duration: 4 years
Delivery: On Campus
Local tuition: CAD 5,637 / year
International tuition: CAD 5,637 / year
Last checked September 2026 · Source: grad.usask.ca ·
Program details
Overview
The Doctor of Philosophy in Veterinary Biomedical Sciences, offered through the University of Saskatchewan's Western College of Veterinary Medicine, is a thesis-based doctoral program with an expected duration of four years, delivered in person on the Saskatoon campus. The program emphasizes independent research alongside focused coursework, spanning topics such as cardiovascular and stress physiology, gastrointestinal biochemistry, toxicology, neuroscience, reproductive endocrinology, and biotechnology, and drawing on work with species ranging from livestock and laboratory animals to wildlife and exotic animals. Applicants are encouraged, though not strictly required, to secure supervisor approval before applying, and funding for a student's stipend must come from either the student or the supervising faculty member. Graduates are prepared for careers as scientists, educators, or research leaders working across whole-animal physiology through to molecular and cellular biology. It suits students with a strong life-sciences or veterinary background who want doctoral-level training in biomedical research methods applied to animal health, alongside mentorship from faculty with established research programs and access to specialized laboratory facilities within the veterinary college.
Requirements
Minimum GPA:70.00 / %
Admission Requirements: For this Doctor of Philosophy in Veterinary Biomedical Sciences, applicants need a master's degree, or equivalent, from a recognized university in a relevant academic discipline, with a cumulative weighted average of at least 70% (USask grade-system equivalent) over the coursework required in that master's program. Applications also require three academic or professional references (at least two academic) and a curriculum vitae or resume; securing a supervisor's agreement before applying is recommended, though not stated as mandatory. There is no formal application deadline -- admission occurs each academic term. Proof of English proficiency may be required for international applicants and for applicants whose first language is not English, per the university's general graduate admission requirements; this page does not state a specific test or score.
Application Details
Start Date:Beginning of each academic term
Application Deadline:The University of Saskatchewan does not publish fixed general application deadlines for its direct-entry undergraduate colleges (Agriculture and Bioresources, Arts and Science, Education, Edwards School of Business, Engineering, Kinesiology, Dental Hygiene, Dental Therapy): admission requirements and deadlines for the 2027-28 cycle become available only once applications open on 25 September 2026, and the site gives no separate international closing date. Non-direct professional programs set their own dates instead: for September 2027 entry, the College of Law's JD opens 15 October 2026 with rolling review to a 1 February 2027 documents deadline and is not currently accepting international applicants; the College of Medicine's MD applications close 1 October 2026 for domestic (Canadian citizen/PR) applicants only; and the Nutrition program's single deadline is 15 March 2027 for both domestic and international applicants, with no late applications considered. These are institution-wide dates; this programme publishes no deadline of its own.