The University of British Columbia crest

Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV

The University of British Columbia

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada•World Rank #64

Official program page (opens in a new tab)

Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV is a postgraduate certificate in Education & Teaching programme offered by The University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. The programme is delivered on campus. Teaching is in English. Tuition for international students is CAD 1,052 per credit (CAD 226 per credit for local students).

At a glance

Degree: Postgraduate Certificate
Field: Education & Teaching
Delivery: On Campus
Language: English
Local tuition: CAD 226 / credit
International tuition: CAD 1,052 / credit

Information for the 2027/28 academic year · Last reviewed September 2026 ·

Program details

Overview

The certificate program incorporates course work in educational leadership, inquiry-based learning, literacy, collaborative planning and teaching, information literacy, curriculum design and implementation, multi-media resources, digital literacies, and learning technologies.

Requirements

Admission Requirements: Admission to the UBC Certificate in Teacher-Librarianship (LIBE), administered by the Faculty of Education, requires a Bachelor of Education or equivalent teaching credential. Additional teaching experience in community and/or school settings with children and/or adolescents is preferred though not stated as mandatory. The certificate requires a total of 15 credits, completed through one of two course options set out in the Academic Calendar; the Calendar entry does not specify a time limit for completing them. Neither the Academic Calendar entry nor the program's own page sets out a minimum grade point average, an English-language proficiency score or a separate application fee; applicants are directed to the Faculty's Office of Professional Learning for the application process.

Application Details

Application Deadline: Domestic and international undergraduate applicants both apply through EducationPlannerBC for Winter Session 2027/28 (September 2027 entry) and Summer 2027: applications open in early October 2026 and the equal-consideration deadline is 15 January 2027, 11:59 p.m. PST, the same date for both groups; a few programs keep reviewing late applications on a space-available basis afterwards. Earlier dates apply only to entrance-award consideration -- 15 November 2026 for the International Scholars Program and 1 December 2026 for Presidential/Centennial/Beyond Tomorrow scholars. Several limited-entry programmes -- Law, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Nursing (advanced entry), Occupational/Physical Therapy, Social Work and Teacher Education -- set their own earlier deadlines from October 2026 through February 2027. These are institution-wide dates; this programme publishes no deadline of its own.

About The University of British Columbia

“Tuum Est”

Type: University
Control: Public
Campus setting: Urban
Founded: 1908
Students: 72,100
World rank: #64
Programs: 731
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
The University of British Columbia campus and surroundings

View the full The University of British Columbia profile

Similar programs in Canada

More programs at The University of British Columbia

Other universities in Canada

Frequently asked questions

What degree does Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV award?

The University of British Columbia awards a Postgraduate Certificate in the field of Education & Teaching on completion of this programme.

How much does Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV cost?

Tuition for international students is CAD 1,052 per credit (CAD 226 per credit for local students).

Can Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV be studied online?

No — the programme is taught on campus at The University of British Columbia.

What language is Teacher Librarianship Certificate - UBCV taught in?

The programme is taught in English.

Browse all articles →

Spotted something outdated or missing?

Help us keep this page accurate — it takes about 30 seconds.

Free calculators and converters to plan your study-abroad journey.

Latest Articles

Fresh guides and advice for studying abroad.

View all →

Compare Compare